Skip to main content

OPST – 6, June 2022

6th Annual Meeting of the OceanPredict Science Team (OPST-6)

15, 16 and 17 June 2022


Where: Online, MS Teams
When: 15, 16 and 17 June 2022
Duration: 3 days @ 2 hours each day
Organisers: Eric Chassignet (FSU)
Fraser Davidson (ECCC/DFO)
PN Vinayachandran (Indian Institute of Science)
Kirsten Wilmer-Becker (Met Office)
Announcement N/A



  • Members of the OceanPredict Science Team (OPST)
  • Members of the OceanPredict Advisory Board (OPAS)
  • Invited guests



Fraser Davidson, OPST co-chair
Eric Chassignet, OPST co-chair
PN Vinayachandran, OPST co-chair
Kirsten Wilmer-Becker, OP Programme Office



OPST-6 agenda

The OPST-6 agenda can be downloaded from the document section:

OPST-6 agenda

(Update: 15 June 2022)


OPST-6 presentations

Day 1 – 15 June 2022

OPST interaction with external partners and the UN Decade partner programmes, and OPST new working group on OP operational prediction systems

Title Presenter Affiliation Role
“OceanPrediction DCC
A Decade Collaborative Centre
to build the ocean prediction we need
Enrique Alvarez Mercator Ocean International DCC and ETOOFS representative
An Introduction to World Ocean Initiative Tatiana Der Avedissian Home – World Ocean initiative ( Invited speaker
Realizing the Benefits of Ocean Knowledge through Ocean Observing Co-Design David Legler NOAA Invited speaker
CoastPredict: Observing and Predicting the Global Coastal Ocean Villy Kourafalou Univ. of Miami/RSMAS OPST member and COSS-TT co-chair
ForeSea – The Ocean Prediction Capacity of the Future Eric Chassignet Florida State University OPST co-chair
SynObs Updates Yosuke Fujii MRI-JMA OPST member and OS-Eval TT co-chair
Operational Systems Working Group (OPOS-WG) David Ford Met Office OPST member and OPOS-WG co-chair

Day 2 – 16 June 2022

OceanPredict Task Teams reports

Title Presenter Affiliation Role
Task Team presentations – latest activities and support for ForeSea and SynObs Various (Task Team co-chairs) – see below Various OPST members
OS-Eval TT Elisabeth Remy Mercator Ocean International OS-Eval TT co-chair
IV-TT Fabrice Hernandez IRD IV-TT co-chair
MEAP-TT Marjy Friedrichs Virginia Institute of Marine Science MEAP-TT co-chair
COSS-TT Pierre De Mey-Frémaux CNRS/LEGOS COSS-TT co-chair
DA-TT Matt Martin Met Office DA-TT co-chair
CP-TT Santha Akella NASA CP-TT co-chair

Day 3 – 17 June 2022

OPST business meeting

Title Presenter Affiliation Role
ETOOFS update Pierre Bahurel Mercator Ocean International ETOOFS director and OPAS member
OP communication and online presence PN Vinayachandran Indian Institute of Science OPST co-chair
OP ’24 – next OP symposium Eric Chassignet FSU/COAPS OPST co-chair
OP housekeeping Fraser Davidson and Kirsten Wilmer-Becker DFO/ECCC and Met Office OPST co-hairs and OP programme officer


OPST-6 recordings are only open to attendees of the OPST-5 meeting. To access the recordings you require a password. Please contact the programme office in case of questions.