Skip to main content

International Digital Twins of the Ocean Summit 2023


  • Abstract submission deadline is 20 August 2023
  • Deadline for Early-bird registration is 14 Sep 2023 – registration now OPEN


Endorsed by the UN Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development (2021-2030), the Digital Twins of the Ocean (DITTO)
programme was launched in 2021. The vision of DITTO Programme is to build a world where digital twins of the ocean (DTOs) are
used to support ocean protection, ocean governance, and a sustainable blue economy.

The DITTO Summit 2022 held in London was attended by 500+ participants in-person and virtually exploring progress in the
development of DITTO capability, considering their requirements for infrastructure, describing potential applications, and
defining a path forward.

Taking the great arena of 2023 World Ocean Week in Xiamen, the DITTO Summit 2023 will be co-organised by the Fujian
Ocean Innovation Center and State Key Laboratory of Marine Environmental Science (Xiamen University), and to gather global
participants with themes focusing on sharing the latest knowledge about DTOs and discussing future actions on advancing and
applying them.

We now warmly welcome and encourage everyone who is interested in the topic of DTOs to register and submit

Abstract submission

The submission deadline is extended to August 20, 2023.

To submit an abstract please visit the submission website.


Abstract submission information is available from the DITTO website.


1. Ocean Observations & Data Systems

Co-chairs: Marjolaine Krug (Department of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries, South Africa), Toste Tanhua (GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel), Yan Du (South China Sea Institute of Oceanology, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

2. Data Analytics & Model Prediction Engines

Co-chairs: Enrique Alvarez (Mercator Ocean International), Eric Chassignet (Florida State University), Pierre Bahurel (Mercator Ocean International), Zhao Jing (Ocean University of China)

3. Data Lakes & Interoperability

Co-chairs: Jan-Bart Calewaert (Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO), Pier Luigi Buttigieg (Helmholtz Metadata Collaboration), Suixiang Shi (National Marine Data and Information Service, China)

4. Interactive Layers & Visualisations

Co-chairs: Jeroen Steenbeek (Ecopath International Initiative), Rongrong Ji (Xiamen University), Zhaoyuan Yu (Nanjing Normal University)

5. Advancing DTO Architectures and Interoperability

Co-chairs: Jay Pearlman (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), Ute Brönner (SINTEF-Ocean, Norway), Zhong Peng (East China Normal University)

6. Education, Training & Capacity Development

Co-chairs: Jing Li (Climate and Ocean – Variability, Predictability, and Change), Mônica Muelbert (Universidade Federal de São Paulo), Yuntao Wang (The Second Institute of Oceanography, Ministry of Natural Resources, China)

7. Showcase of DTO Applications

Co-chairs: Delphine Lobelle (Fugro Ltd.), Qinghua Yang (Southern Marine Science and Engineering Guangdong Laboratory (Zhuhai)), Ute Brönner (SINTEF-Ocean, Norway), Yawei Luo (Xiamen University)



To register please visit the DITTO Summit registration page.


Download flyer


View all events